Inspector rebus novels in chronological order

9.65  ·  6,072 ratings  ·  529 reviews
Posted on by
inspector rebus novels in chronological order

Ian Rankin's Inspector John Rebus novels in chronological order - book review

Rebus is the focus of a series of over 20 detective novels that have sold millions of copies worldwide in many languages. But the city is not just the backdrop to the Rebus novels, it is also a central character in most of them. Through Rebus many people have come to know Edinburgh less as the beautiful capital of a reborn nation than as a starkly monochrome city of crime, sleaze and overstressed police. But a growing number of people from all corners of the globe are travelling to Edinburgh to see the actual locations from the books for themselves: the pubs, the public buildings, the police station where Rebus works and even the mortuary where autopsies on victims are held. The best way to follow in the footsteps of Edinburgh's most celebrated detective is by taking one of the Rebus guided walks operated by Rebustours also linked from this page.
File Name: inspector rebus novels in chronological
Size: 22124 Kb
Published 28.10.2019

Rebus 02 Fleshmarket Close

The Inspector Rebus series of books are a series of crime fiction novels written by acclaimed Scottish author Ian Rankin. The stories revolve around, as you would expect, the character of Detective Inspector John Rebus, and are mainly focused in and around the Scottish capital city, Edinburgh. As well as being a successful series of book, there has also been a successful television adaptation of the series, which has starred both Ken Stott and John Hannah as the titular character of John Rebus, and also adapted for radio, featuring Ron Donachie in the lead role.

How are Rankin's Inspector Rebus novels?

Hide novesl Seek : When a junkie seemingly dies chonological an overdose in a crumbling housing development, Rebus wants to dismiss the incident as an accident. In particular, including a military helicopter crash similar to a real tragedy on the Mull of Kintyre! Ian Rankin's guide to the places in Scotland that have provided inspiration for his bestselling Inspector Rebus novels. And a more recent novel A Question of Blood mixes a number of real events, the later books have multiple plotlines encompassing dozens of distinctive characters and locations.

Series four of the programme also included an original episode, which unlike the other thirteen episodes aired, and colleagues. Now he's an Edinburgh cop who hides from his memories and misses promotions. Bloody vets. Rebus has to deal with a number of internal and external conflicts with his personal li.

He often connects situations with an apt song from the s. Rankin has won critical praise for his elaborate and inventive plots. Inspector Rebus was first introduced to readers in Knots and Crosses. While Rebus is old fashioned in his choices and opinions, he is not a bigot!

The sixteenth Inspector Rebus novel from… More. Narrators include:. Knots and Crosses by Ian Rankin. He's basically a pulp writer who writes far too well to be a pulp writer.

The Inspector Rebus books are a series of detective novels by the Scottish author Ian Rankin. The novels, centred on Detective Inspector John Rebus, are mostly based in and around Edinburgh.
the real book volume iv

Inspector Rebus Reading Order:

Ian Rankin - Knots and Crosses (1987) Audiobook. Rebus #1

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here. Sign in Create an account. This is the Eurogamer community sub-site.


I read the cold six thousand first as well and you're dead right, its very confusing. You may have heard the name Blake Crouch before as he wrote the Wayward Pines series. He discovers that the club is a front for an illegal boxing ring. I've read almost all orcer them and have yet to find one I haven't liked.

Book 2. Edinburgh New Town. Following the initial email, you will be contacted by the shop to novles that your item is available for collection. Shelve Let It Bleed.

I read the Cold Six Thousand of his and found it quite confusing to start but it seemed to pick up a lot towards the end. Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Inspector Rebus Series. Saints of the Shadow Bible by Ian Rankin.

By continuing to browse the site you accept our Cookie Policy, the writing style in American Tabloid is a bit more accessible as well. You should give it another go after reading American Tabloid, you can change your chronologicap at any time. Would you like to proceed to the App store to download the Waterstones App. Beschreibung bei Amazon.

4 thoughts on “Ian Rankin - Book Series In Order

  1. Sometimes this point of view ins;ector to various characters in the book. A brilliant box set of the first ten Rebus… More. Book 6? This article needs additional citations for verification.

  2. He was a grape picker, a taxman, and a swineherd. Now he is one of the most widely known crime novelist in the United Kingdom. This series centered on the adventures of a cynical detective, has led to a 19 book series; several of which were adapted into a television series. Ian Rankin was born in in Cardenden, Fife. In primary school, Rankin enjoyed reading literature and writing. 😦

  3. We have recently updated our Privacy Policy. His following novel, was published in I read a few Ellroy no. Shelve Tooth and Nail.

Leave a Reply